Learn all about Facebook’s new Snooze feature and how to use it
Late in 2017, Facebook rolled out a new Snooze feature that gives you more control over what content you want to see in your News Feed and when you want to see it. In a nutshell, Snooze allows you to temporarily mute people, pages, or group updates from your feed for 30 days.
This feature is especially useful if you don’t want to permanently Unfollow or Unfriend someone, or if there’s a certain short-term event that you don’t want to see in your feed (for example, your ex’s wedding posts or spoilers about your favorite show’s latest episode). You can simply Snooze them for a short period and not have to worry about re-following them back later.
How to Snooze Someone on Facebook
Snoozing someone on Facebook is as simple as the steps for saving a post. Here’s how to do it:
- Click on the three dots on the top-right side of a post
- Select the Snooze for 30 days option from the drop-down menu
You then won’t see content from the people, pages, or groups that owned the post that you Snoozed in your News Feed for 30 days.
Other Things You Need to Know About Snoozing Someone on Facebook
Just like Unfollowing someone, the people, pages, and groups you’ve Snoozed won’t be notified. You can also revoke the Snooze setting at any time.
A day before the 30-day Snooze period, you will be notified that it is about to end. You have the option to extend it for another 30 days or resume to seeing content from the people, pages, or groups you’ve Snoozed.
Facebook is constantly updating their features to further enhance their social media experience. Controls for your News Feed such as Snooze, Unfollow, Hide, and See First are just among the many ways Facebook is offering easy-to-use tools to give you tailored content in your News Feed.